Faculty and students in the Department of Geoscience encompass a broad array of disciplines. Here you will find information on their areas of specialization, current research, teaching, and outreach.

Cooperating Faculty

  • Barbara Luke
    Adjunct Faculty Civil and Environmental Engineering University of Nevada, Las Vegas Geotechnical Engineering, Geophysical Engineering, Earthquake Engineering, Soil Dynamics, Seismic Site Characterization Phone: (702) 895-1568
    barbara.luke@unlv.edu

  • Henry Sun
    Adjunct Faculty Desert Research Institute (DRI) Endolithic Microbes, Desert Microbiology, Geomicrobiology
    Henry.Sun@dri.edu

Forest Inventory and Analysis

Forest Inventory and Analysis
The UNLV-FIA group at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas has partnered with the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Forest Service (FS) to provide data management and analysis support for the  Forest Inventory and Analysis Program (FIA). This program provides the information needed to assess America’s forests, projects how forests are likely to appear in the future, and evaluates whether current forest management practices are sustainable in the long run. As part of it’s partnership with FIA, the UNLV-FIA group provides database support, application and tool development, and systems maintenance support for a number of ongoing FIA projects, including the National Management System-Computation System (NIMS-CS), Forest Inventory and Analysis Database (FIADB), Design and Analysis Toolkit for Inventory and Monitoring (DATIM), Forest Inventory Data Online (FIDO), Timber Products Output (TPO), National Woodland Owner Survey (NWOS), and others.

  • Richie Abenoja
    Student Programmer
    Office : CSB 212

  • Gretchen Andrew
    Project Manager
    CSB 212C
    702-895-1437
    gretchen.andrew@unlv.edu

  • John Bertini
    Computer Programmer
    Office Location: CSB 212D
    (702)895-1438

  • Greg Buczek
    Computer Systems Analyst
    Off Campus
    greg.buczek@unlv.edu

  • Brian Cordova
    Computer Systems Analyst
    CSB 212A
    702-895-4087
    brian.cordova@unlv.edu

  • Ervin Czimskey
    Computer Systems Analyst
    Off Campus
    ervin.czimskey@unlv.edu

  • Winnie David
    Research Assistant
    CSB 212B
    702-895-4919
    winnie.david@unlv.edu

  • Eddie Dover
    Programmer Analyst
    CSB 212D
    702-895-5846

  • Shyrun Karandikar
    Student Research Assistant
    CSB 212
    Phone: 702-895-4087

  • Kelsey Manglicmot
    Student Programmer
    CSB 212

  • Edward Munoz
    Computer Programmer
    CSB 212D
    (702)895-5846
    edward.munoz@unlv.edu

  • Brian Pankey
    Computer Systems Analyst
    CSB 212A
    702-895-3416
    brian.pankey@unlv.edu

  • Patricia Payton
    Student Programmer
    CSB 212

  • James Pollard
    Director
    LFG 113
    702-895-4948
    james.pollard@unlv.edu

  • Joshua Ramos
    Student Programmer
    CSB 212