Faculty and students in the Department of Geoscience encompass a broad array of disciplines. Here you will find information on their areas of specialization, current research, teaching, and outreach.

Graduate Student Directory

  • Shaimaa Abd El Haleem
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 103
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: Cairo University, 2010
    Geology MS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: aliabdel@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Tomoyo Austin
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 110
    Phone: (702) 895-1531
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2014
    Area of Focus: Petrology, Mineralogy
    Email: austint@unlv.nevada.edu

  • William Barba
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 108
    Phone: (702) 895-4799
    Geology BS: Northern Arizona University, 2018
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: barbaw1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Drew Barkoff
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 114
    Phone:
    (702) 895-3584
    Geology B.S.: Stockton University, 2015
    Geology M.S.: University of Arizona, 2017
    Area of Focus: Igneous Petrology, Geochemistry
    Email: barkoff@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Emily Beard
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 115
    Phone: (702) 895-1132
    Geology B.S., English Literature B.A.: University of Mary Washington, 2016
    Area of Focus: Economic Geology
    Email: bearde1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Taylor Craig
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology BS: Appalachian State, 2016
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: craig@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Eric Chameroy
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 124
    Phone: (702) 895-1238
    Biology MS: Univerisity of Nevada, Las Vegas
    Email: chameroy@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Chad Crotty
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 3244
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: North Dakota State University, 2011
    Area of Focus: Paleoclimatology
    Email: crotty@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Christopher DeFelice
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 108
    Phone: (702) 895-4799
    Geology BS: Norwich University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Geochemistry/Igneous Petrology
    Email: defelc1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Rebecca Ely
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 103
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: UNLV, 2016
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: ely@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Anthony Feldman
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Phone: (702) 895-1421
    Geology BS: University of Miami, 2015
    Geology MS: New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology, 2018
    Area of Focus: Soil Sciences
    Email: feldma2@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Kevin Heintz
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 108
    Phone: (702) 895-4799
    Geology BS: Northern Arizona University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Hydrogeology
    Email: heintz@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Susan Hertfelder
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 109
    Phone: (702) 895-3874
    Geology BS: California State University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Paleontology
    Email: hertfs1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Nudthawud (Dew) Homtong
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: LFG 202A
    Phone: (702) 895-5460
    Geology BA: University of Colorado, 2011
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology/Tectonics
    Email: homtong@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Chin Chai Huan
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 3244
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: Purdue University West Lafayette, 2014
    Area of Focus: Sequence Stratigraphy
    Email: huanc1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Rebecca Humphrey
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 115
    Phone: (702) 895-1132
    Earth and Environmental Science B.S.: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2017
    Area of Focus: Cretaceous Paleontology
    Email: humphr1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Ann Marie Jones
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 122B
    Phone: (702) 895-4614
    Marine Biology BS: University of Oregon, 2006
    Geology MS: Kent State University, 2013
    Area of Focus: Paleontology
    Email: jonesa27@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Uday Kara Ali
    Ph. D. Student
    Office: TEC 124
    Phone: (702) 895-4751
    BS Geology: Baghdad University, 2004
    Area of Focus: Petroleum Geology, Sequence Stratigraphy, Salt Tectonics
    Email: karaali@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Genevieve Kidman
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 107
    Phone: (702) 895-3244
    Geology B.S.: Southern Utah University, 2015
    Area of Focus: High Pressure Rock Deformation, Mineral Physics
    Email: kidman@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Kelsy Konkright
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 110
    Phone: (702) 895-1531
    BS Geology: University of Alaska Anchorage, 2016
    Area of Focus: Igneous Petrology
    Email: konkrigh@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Yuan Luo
    Ph.D. Student
    Geology BS: North China University of Water Resources and Electric Power, 2011
    Geology MS: University of Kansas, 2013
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: luoy5@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Ngoc Luu
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Phone: (702) 895-1421
    Geological Sciences (Environmental Hydrogeology) M.S.: California State University, Los Angeles, 2014
    Area of Focus: Geochemistry
    Email: luun1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Dalton McCaffrey
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 108
    Phone: (702) 895-4799
    Geology B.S.: Clemson University, 2016
    Area of Focus: Economic Geology
    Email: mccafd1@unlv.nevada.edu

     

  • J. Jayson Medema
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 109
    Phone: (702) 895-3874
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: GIS and Remote Sensing
    Email: medema@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Brandon Meier
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 100
    Phone: (702) 895-3118
    Geology B.S.: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: meierb4@unlv.nevada.edu

  • James Mifflin
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 117
    Phone: (702) 895-1133
    Geology BS: University of Hawaii, 2017
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: mifflin@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Deborah Morales
    M.S. Student
    Office: SEB 3244
    Phone: (702) 895-1410
    Geology B.S.: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Sedimentology
    Email: morald1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Suzanne Milligan
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology B.S.: Indiana University of Bloomington, 2016
    Area of Focus: Tectonics, Metamorphic Petrology, Structural Geology
    Email: mullis1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Amanda Ostwald
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 103
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: University of Texas at El Paso, 2017
    Area of Focus: Planetary Science, Igneous Petrology
    Email: ostwald@unlv.nevada.edu

     

  • Gregg Paulson
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 117
    Phone: (702) 895-1133
    Geology BS: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: paulsg1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Lauren Parry
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 109
    Phone: (702) 895-3874
    Biology BS: State University of New York, 2013
    Area of Focus: Quaternary Paleoecology
    Email: parryl1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Kevin Rafferty
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology BS: Weber State University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
    Email: raffek2@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Rachel Rahib
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 110
    Phone: (702) 895-1531
    Geology BS: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2016
    Area of Focus: Igneous Petrology, Planetary Science
    Email: rahibr@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Natalie Renkes
    M.S. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Phone: (702) 774-1421
    Geology BS: Grand Valley State University, 2016
    Area of Focus: Medical Geolgoy
    Email: renkes@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Justin Reppart
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 114
    Phone: (702) 895-3584
    BS Geology: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Mineralogy/Petrology
    Email: reppartj@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Michael Strange
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 103A
    Phone: (702) 895-3120
    Geology BS: Utah State University, 2014
    Area of Focus: Invertebrate Paleontology
    Email: strange@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Afan Tarar
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 107
    Phone: (702) 895-3244
    Biology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2012
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: tarara@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Taryn Traylor
    M.S. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Phone: (702) 895-1421
    Geology B.S.: Texas A&M University, 2017
    Area of Focus: High Pressure Rock Deformation, Mineral Physics
    Email: traylt1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Elijah (Eli) Turner
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology BS: University of Kansas, 2017
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: turnee1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Audrey Warren
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Geology BS: Brigham Young University, 2013
    Geology MS: University of Idaho, 2015
    Area of Focus: Biogeochemistry and Sedimentology
    Email: warrea2@unlv.nevada.edu