Faculty and students in the Department of Geoscience encompass a broad array of disciplines. Here you will find information on their areas of specialization, current research, teaching, and outreach.

Graduate Student Directory

  • Shaimaa Abd El Haleem
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 103
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: Cairo University, 2010
    Geology MS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: aliabdel@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Tomoyo Austin
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 110
    Phone: (702) 895-1531
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2014
    Area of Focus: Petrology, Mineralogy
    Email: austint@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Jonathan Baker
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 3246
    Phone: (702) 774-1412
    Geology BS: Weber State University, 2008
    Geology MS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2010
    Area of Focus: Paleoclimatology
    Email: bakerj61@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Toluwalope Bamisile
    M.S. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Phone: (702) 774-1421
    Geology BS: University of Ilorin, Nigeria, 2013
    Area of Focus: Advanced Geoschemistry
    Email: bamisile@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Taylor Craig
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology BS: Appalachian State, 2016
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: craig@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Eric Chameroy
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 124
    Phone: (702) 895-1238
    Biology MS: Univerisity of Nevada, Las Vegas
    Email: chameroy@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Aaron Christensen
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 117
    Phone: (702) 895-1133
    Geology BS: Brigham Young University, 2014
    Area of Focus: Structure and Tectonics
    Email: chrisa5@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Logan Combs
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 108
    Phone: (702) 895-4799
    Geology BS: University of Tennessee, 2014
    Area of Focus: Planetary Petrology
    Email: combsl1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Chad Crotty
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 3244
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: North Dakota State University, 2011
    Area of Focus: Paleoclimatology
    Email: crotty@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Christopher DeFelice
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 108
    Phone: (702) 895-4799
    Geology BS: Norwich University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Geochemistry/Igneous Petrology
    Email: defelc1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Rebecca Ely
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 103
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: UNLV, 2016
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: ely@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Michael Evans
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 117
    Phone: (702) 895-1133
    Geology BS: California Lutheran University, 2013
    Area of Focus: Fault System Modeling and Structural Geology
    Email: evansm13@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Sara Gedo
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 110
    Phone: (702) 895-1531
    Geology BS: North Dakota State University, 2012
    Area of Focus: Vadose zone hydrology
    Email: gedo@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Alexander Goya
    M.S. Student
    Office: LFG212
    Phone: (702) 895-2911
    Geology BS: UNLV, 2016
    Area of Focus: Experimental petrology
    Email: goyaa@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Gordon Haight
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology BS: Southern Utah University, 2014
    Area of Focus: Paleontology
    Email: haighg1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Kevin Heintz
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 108
    Phone: (702) 895-4799
    Geology BS: Northern Arizona University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Hydrogeology
    Email: heintz@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Susan Hertfelder
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 109
    Phone: (702) 895-3874
    Geology BS: California State University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Paleontology
    Email: hertfs1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Lee Hess
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 115
    Phone: (702) 895-1132
    Geology BS: Idaho State University, 2011
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology/Tectonics
    Email: hessl1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Nudthawud (Dew) Homtong
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: LFG 202A
    Phone: (702) 895-5460
    Geology BA: University of Colorado, 2011
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology/Tectonics
    Email: homtong@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Chin Chai Huan
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 3244
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Geology BS: Purdue University West Lafayette, 2014
    Area of Focus: Sequence Stratigraphy
    Email: huanc1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Zachary Jensen
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 115
    Phone: (702) 895-1132
    Area of Focus: Paleontology
    Email: jensez1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Ann Marie Jones
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 122B
    Phone: (702) 895-4614
    Marine Biology BS: University of Oregon, 2006
    Geology MS: Kent State University, 2013
    Area of Focus: Paleontology
    Email: jonesa27@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Uday Kara Ali
    Ph. D. Student
    Office: TEC 124
    Phone: (702) 895-4751
    BS Geology: Baghdad University, 2004
    Area of Focus: Petroleum Geology, Sequence Stratigraphy, Salt Tectonics
    Email: karaali@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Kelsy Konkright
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 110
    Phone: (702) 895-1531
    BS Geology: University of Alaska Anchorage, 2016
    Area of Focus: Igneous Petrology
    Email: konkrigh@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Yuan Luo
    Ph.D. Student
    Geology BS: North China University of Water Resources and Electric Power, 2011
    Geology MS: University of Kansas, 2013
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: luoy5@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Dev Maharjan
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 122A
    Phone: (702) 895-5226
    Geology B.S.: Trichandra College, 1999
    Geology M.S.: University of Louisiana, 2010
    Area of Focus: Early Mississippian Climate
    Email: maharjan@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Christopher McCoy
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 124
    Phone: (702) 895-
    Geology B.S.: Southern Illinois University, 2014
    Geology M.S.: Southern Illinois University, 2016
    Area of Focus: Igenous petrology, Planetary Science
    Email: mccoy8@unlv.nevada.edu

  • J. Jayson Medema
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 109
    Phone: (702) 895-3874
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: GIS and Remote Sensing
    Email: medema@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Brandon Meier
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 100
    Phone: (702) 895-3118
    Geology B.S.: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: meierb4@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Deborah Morales
    M.S. Student
    Office: SEB 3244
    Phone: (702) 895-1410
    Geology B.S.: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Sedimentology
    Email: morald1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Suzanne Milligan
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology B.S.: Indiana University of Bloomington, 2016
    Area of Focus: Tectonics, Metamorphic Petrology, Structural Geology
    Email: mullis1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Lauren Parry
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 109
    Phone: (702) 895-3874
    Biology BS: State University of New York, 2013
    Area of Focus: Quaternary Paleoecology
    Email: parryl1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Alexander Peck
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 107
    Phone: (702) 895-3244
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Email: pecka2@unlv.nevada.edu

  • William Pilesky
    Ph.D. Student
    Geology BS: Rutgers University, 2012
    Geology MS: California State University Fullerton, 2014
    Area of Focus: Carbonate Sedimentology,Paleoceanography, Isotope Geochemistry
    Email: pilesky@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Thomas Price
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 124
    Phone: (702) 895-4751
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2013
    Area of Focus: Structural Geology
    Email: pricet10@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Kevin Rafferty
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 106
    Phone: (702) 895-4633
    Geology BS: Weber State University, 2015
    Area of Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
    Email: raffek2@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Rachel Rahib
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 110
    Phone: (702) 895-1531
    Geology BS: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2016
    Area of Focus: Igneous Petrology, Planetary Science
    Email: rahibr@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Stephanie Ralston
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Phone: (702) 774-1421
    Earth & Atmospheric Science BS: Georgia Institute of Technology, 2014
    Area of Focus: Planetary Science
    Email: ralsts1@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Nolan Regis
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 103B
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: High Pressure Rock Deformation, Mineral Physics
    Phone: (702) 895-1162
    Email: regisn2@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Justin Reppart
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 114
    Phone: (702) 895-3584
    BS Geology: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2015
    Area of Focus: Mineralogy/Petrology
    Email: reppartj@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Richard Rowland
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 115
    Phone: (702) 895-1132
    Geology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas 2014
    Area of Focus: Mineralogy/Geochemistry
    Email: rowlan31@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Michael Strange
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: TEC 103A
    Phone: (702) 895-3120
    Geology BS: Utah State University, 2014
    Area of Focus: Invertebrate Paleontology
    Email: strange@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Afan Tarar
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 107
    Phone: (702) 895-3244
    Biology BS: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 2012
    Area of Focus: Hydrology
    Email: tarara@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Alexander Valentine
    M.S. Student
    Office: TEC 114
    Phone: (702) 895-3584
    Geology BS: University of California, 2015
    Area of Focus: High Temperature Geochemistry
    Email: valena6@unlv.nevada.edu

  • Audrey Warren
    Ph.D. Student
    Office: SEB 4250
    Geology BS: Brigham Young University, 2013
    Geology MS: University of Idaho, 2015
    Area of Focus: Biogeochemistry and Sedimentology
    Email: warrea2@unlv.nevada.edu